Fitting the Pieces Together

Posted: 04/22/2014 in Assignments

Having a deeper understanding of the different learning theories and learning styles has expanded my understanding of how I learn. As an adult learner, I cannot say one specific style is preferred over another, I see value in all the theories. I enjoy the cognitive theory where “the emphasis is placed on the role of practice with corrective feedback” (Ertmer & Newby, 1993, p. 58), and linking prior knowledge and experiences to new information. I also enjoy learning via constructivism by learning from “the actual use of tools in real world situations” (Ertmer & Newby, 1993, p. 64).

The biggest surprise was learning how much I learn from social theory and connectivism. Completing the mind-map really helped me to see how much learning I gain from these aspects. I enjoy personal experience and firsthand knowledge, but this type of learning is unrealistic. After reflecting on my mind-map, I thought about all of the information I have gathered from using these different networks “of people, of technology, of social structures, of systems, or power grids, etc.” (Davis, Edmunds, & Kelly-Bateman, 2008, p. 2), and found it far outweighs the knowledge I have gained firsthand.

Technology plays a very important role in learning for me. I have received my bachelor’s degree in business because of the availability of an online education. I am pursuing my second degree, all because of technology. I use technology every day in my personal and professional life. I have learned new ways to search for information that I can rely on via different school websites, I have learned to make the Internet work for me via RSS feeds. I am expanding my professional network through LinkedIn. These technologies will assist me in developing my skills as an Instructional Designer (ID), and I hope to continue to add to my toolbox as this course continues and as I continue to expand my learning abilities and knowledge resources.

References

Davis, C., Edmunds, E., & Kelly-Bateman, V. (2008). Connectivism. In M. Orey (Ed.), Emerging perspectives on learning, teaching, and technology. Retrieved from http://projects.coe.uga.edu/epltt/index.php?title=Connectivism

Ertmer, P. A. & Newby, P. A. (1993). Behaviorism, Cognitivism, Constructivism: Comparing Critical Features from an Instructional Design Perspective. Performance Improvement Quarterly, 6(4), John Wiley & Sons, Inc. Journals.

Leave a Reply

