Connectivism

Posted: 04/06/2014 in Assignments

Mind MapClick to see Larger Image

When I look at my learning network as an adult, I see many of my learning connections are with individuals and technology. This is a very different network than I had in early childhood and even through grades K-12. Many of the core concepts of connectivism are in my learning network. I see the connection of different nodes and information sources (Davis, Edmunds, & Kelly-Bateman, 2008). In addition, I see the need to create and maintain these connections to facilitate ongoing learning opportunities for myself (Davis et al, 2008).

The digital tools that facilitate learning for me include the Internet, digital libraries, e-books, and blogs. All very different tools than I had during my earlier education experiences. Prior to this course, I had no interest in blogs, this course has changed how I view blogs, and I have found blogs to contain a wealth of information on specific topics I am interested receiving more information regarding.

I seek out new knowledge in a variety of ways when faced with questions. One of the first ways is to determine if I have any associates able to provide me the information I am seeking. I enjoy learning new information in this manner, not only can I get necessary information; I also get their experience in a practical application of the information. If I am not able to find an associate that has the necessary information, I turn to the digital libraries of the schools I have studied at or e-books I have saved from different course materials. I find these libraries easy to search, and I know that I can trust the validity of the information I locate by only including peer-reviewed information in my searches.

When I first considered the tenets of connectivism, I was not sure how much connectivism played into my learning experiences. However, after the completion of my mind map, I see that many of the tenets are included. I mentioned a couple initially in describing how my network has changed the way I learn. In addition, I find that there are diverse ways I seek knowledge and learning (Davis et al., 2008). Much of my learning I also find in “non-human appliances” (Davis et al., 2008). I also feel that there is never an end to learning, if you stop learning you stop growing, to be relevant you must continually increase your capacity of information continually updating your knowledge and thinking processes (Davis et al, 2008).

References

Davis, C., Edmunds, E., & Kelly-Bateman, V. (2008). Connectivism. In M. Orey (Ed.), Emerging perspectives on learning, teaching, and technology. Retrieved from http://projects.coe.uga.edu/epltt/index.php?title=Connectivism

Leave a Reply

